Setting Snares

Discussion in 'Sportsman's Paradise' started by LSUTiga, Mar 9, 2013.

1. LSUTiga

LSUTiga TF Pubic Relations

My latest undertaking. Set 9 this afternoon. Would have to be pretty lucky to catch anything. I set most for coons but a couple of coyote sets. Will post picks if I luck up. Anyone here trap?

2. KyleK

KyleK Who, me? Staff Member

Dude, you are this board's Jed Clampett! You are one cool mofo.

I don't trap, but anybody who can catch something w/ a snare is a survivor in my book.

fanatic likes this.
  3. LSUTiga

lmao

This morning I went meet a guy I graduated HS with. He wanted me to show him where/how to catch turtles and possibly set hoop nets. We rode 4-wheelers through his land in the woods along a bayou. When we stopped I mentioned to him that should there be an apocalypse (sp?) the hoop nets would serve a good purpose in terms of putting food on the table.

4. KyleK

KyleK Who, me? Staff Member

Dude, there is no doubt about that. When the apocalypse comes, me and the girls and all my guns, fishing equipment and other survival equipment are heading your way!

5. fanatic

fanatic Habitual Line Stepper

With a little Ron Jeremy mixed in. :D:D:D:D

6. LSUTiga

Notta. I suck at this so far, apparently.

The guy I went meet yesterday showed me a crawfish lake, I guessing 30 acres, that had every trap knocked down. The traps have stakes integrated in them, too. He said he quit fishing it. I told him about these traps and he asked me if I could find him some. I got 5 from another friend (on loan) and will be bringing them to him tomorrow. Guy I got them from caught over 50 coons last year. Isn't a fur trapper, per se. Just doing it to rid land of nuissance.

He told me marshmellows and grape jelly were his two best baits. You put the bait inside and when the coon reaches in, it catches it's paw. I asked why not a piece of fish and he said it just makes the traps stink. lol