Need Printer Help

Discussion in 'New Roundtable' started by Bengal B, Sep 19, 2019.

  1. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43,314
    Likes Received:
    19,628
    I changed internet providers so I needed to change my printer to the new connection.
    I got the printer online with my new wifi settings but when I try to print I get a printer offline message. The printer is a Canon MX490 Pixma.
     
  2. Frogleg

    Frogleg Registered Best

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Upgrade driver.
    Delete driver n set up again.
     
    Bengal B likes this.
  3. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43,314
    Likes Received:
    19,628
    Yeah, I have lost the printed setup instructions since buying the printer last year. Online Win10 instructions to turn on file sharing are not the same as what I see on my computer.
     
  4. shane0911

    shane0911 Helping lost idiots find their village Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    29,753
    Likes Received:
    17,022
    Is the printer connected to your wifi?
     
  5. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43,314
    Likes Received:
    19,628
    Yes. That's why I can't understand why it won't print.
     
  6. shane0911

    shane0911 Helping lost idiots find their village Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    29,753
    Likes Received:
    17,022
    Can your phone or computer see the printer?
     
  7. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43,314
    Likes Received:
    19,628
    apparently not. I reintstalled the setup files and printed the setup document but when I try to print something for real I still get the printer offline message.
     
  8. HalloweenRun

    HalloweenRun I'll try to be nicer, if you try to be smarter!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    4,123
    Go to your router software and make sure the router is recognizing it as the correct printer. Since you are getting a response it’s probably ok, but you never know. I have a similar Canon model and it’s been too long to remember, but I have a vague feeling it was a bit weird to get connected to network. Good luck.
     
  9. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43,314
    Likes Received:
    19,628
    I ended up calling Canon tech support. Amazingly the guy spoke English. I had to left click somewhere and uncheck something. Now it works.
     
    HalloweenRun likes this.
  10. locoguano

    locoguano Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,254
    Likes Received:
    2,151
    Always the case with Windows... Which is why I switched to Linux ten years ago.
     
    fanatic and Bengal B like this.

Share This Page