Do you #standwithahmed?

Discussion in 'Free Speech Alley' started by StaceyO, Sep 17, 2015.

1. StaceyO

StaceyO Football Turns Me On

So, what do you guys think about the arrest of young Ahmed at Irving McArthur High School the other day for bringing a homemade clock to school?

Looking at the pictures of the "clock," I can see where a teacher might mistake it for a bomb. However, the teacher and the school officials are being made out to be villains.

I'm sensitive to this issue for two reasons: 1) I'm a teacher, and we're trained to not take things like a device that looks like a bomb lightly (because what if it is a weapon?) and 2) My daughter's high school was on lockdown for 2 hours last Friday because of a called-in bomb threat. It was beyond scary for every parent and student at the school. The what ifs that would have turned last Friday's hoax into a Columbine-style tragedy are best not thought of.

What were the teachers supposed to do? Would people be as sympathetic if this kid wasn'ta Muslim? And have we gone too far in trying to appear tolerant to Muslims? (I've taught a few, very few, militant Muslim kids over the years, and it's scary.)

2. lsu-i-like

lsu-i-like Playoff advocate

#StandWStaceyO

I don't have a problem being precautious, and I'd feel the same Muslim or not. My wife said the kid was handcuffed, which seems unnecessary unless he was being defiant.

LSUTiga likes this.
  3. Winston1

Winston1 Founding Member

It's difficult to make a judgement without context. Was he a nerdy type or was he a militant type? Was the clock part of a school project that was declared or did he bring it in without preamble?
    I do sympathize with the teachers plight because the wrong decision could lead to deaths.