Conservation issues...

Discussion in 'Sportsman's Paradise' started by stevescookin, May 20, 2012.

1. stevescookin

stevescookin Certified Who Dat

Well, that thread about radical animal rights groups who want to abolish hunting died a lonely death. Probably because the first post was a Catholic theologian giving biblical justifications why the animal rights people and anti hunting groups are theologically wrong.

Nevertheless, conservation issues are vitally important to hunters and fishermen, to citizens of Louisiana and to everyone else in the United States whether they know it or not.

Not many of you know this, but I was a line cook and college, and returned to cooking after leaving my first career...as a fish biologist and project manager. I started up one of the first Redfish farms in Louisiana, and lived out in Barataria bay for about 10 years.

I am a devout conservationist.

In fact, I (and some others) won the first place award in the whole United States for Large scale environmental planning. Governor Edwards appointed fifty of us from industry, conservation and cultural groups to form the Management Conference of the fledgling Barataria/Terrebonne National Estuary Program. It was a federal/State task force who's mission was to write a Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan (CCMP). I was appointed to represent the aquaculture industry.

That program was the thirteenth one in the United States of America (another example Of Louisiana being almost last in something)...yet it was the very first one to win that prestigious award from the American Planning association !!

It was a plan and not law.

It was a plan that was supposed to be used as a standard against which laws were supposed to be compared with to see if they were in accord or discord.

It was anyhting but...