Burrow was robbed

Discussion in 'The Tiger's Den' started by RamahRising, Sep 3, 2018.

  1. didit

    didit Veteran Member

    That catch had nothing to do with whether he caught the ball though... It was did he get his feet in bounds by 12" or 10"...
     
    ParadiseiNC likes this.
  2. tirk

    tirk im the lyrical jessie james

    Right but you can see it move in the actual video blown up.
    And not just us, they overturn everything a catch especially in the NFL. Common sense clouded by boards determining how to put rules in ink but can't figure it out. So we get football moves and completing the catch. It's not complicated.
     
  3. LSU_4_LIFE

    LSU_4_LIFE Founding Member

    Not true, there has it be irrefutable evidence to reverse the call. From the brief angles I saw, it wasn't irrefutable. If it were called incomplete, it most likely would have stood that way as well.
     
    shane0911 likes this.
  4. Nutriaitch

    Nutriaitch Fear the Buoy



    copy and paste direct from NCAA rule book:


    ARTICLE 3. Catch, Interception, Recovery


    1. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also required for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and going to the ground out of bounds. If he loses control of the ball which then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch. If he regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground, it is a catch.


    When in question, the catch, recovery or interception is not completed.
     
    TigerTap likes this.
  5. LSU_4_LIFE

    LSU_4_LIFE Founding Member

    So if its ruled a catch on the field, and it cannot be determined with irrefutable evidence the WR lost control of it, its ruled incomplete? I'll be honest guys, I don't what the hella catch is anymore.....
     
    Bengal B and shane0911 like this.
  6. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    If the refs can't tell how can anybody know for sure?
     
    LSU_4_LIFE likes this.
  7. islstl

    islstl Playoff committee is a group of great football men Staff Member

    Yeah I was yelling for us to challenge that it was a TD not knowing the receiver didn't actually hold on to the ball.

    Definitely smart to hurry the next play. Not something I've pretty much ever seen us do.
     
    ROY_LA_CA likes this.
  8. ROY_LA_CA

    ROY_LA_CA Founding Member

    I don't know the rules that well, but if he did hit the pylon (which I think he did) while having possession of the ball, then I think it's a touchdown AND THE PLAY IS OVER THE MOMENT HE HIT THE PYLON as long as he had possession of the ball when hitting the pylon. Of course, it's all academic now... Any rules freak care to weigh in...? Geaux Tigers...!
     
    ParadiseiNC likes this.
  9. Bengal B

    Bengal B Founding Member

    Under the waterhead we would have gotten a delay of game penalty.
     
    Winston1, ParadiseiNC and el005639 like this.
  10. TigerTap

    TigerTap Founding Member

    How did ya boy manage his first 3 timeouts?
     

Share This Page