On the play where Flynn "fumbles", Tech recovers, then fumbles and LSU recovers, the ruling on the field was fumble, recovered by Tech, fumbled by Tech and recovered by LSU. First down LSU. After review, the ref says, the play stands as called but an official called the pass incomplete, so it's an incomplete pass. WTF? Was the original call a fumble or an incomplete pass? It can't be both. Since the ruling on the field ( a fumble) stands, how can it be negated by a ruling on the field that said it was not a fumble, rather an incomplete pass??? As Kramer would say: "You just blew my mind!"
:insane::hihi: The ruling on the field was incomplete, the replay evidence showed it was indeed a fumble, but I suppose the ruling of incomplete pass can't be overturned by replay evidence. If the play would have been ruled a turnover, would LSU really get a fresh first down? It seems I've seen the opposite in the past (ie, LSU recovering the ball would still have a 4th down).
I thought it was clearly a forward pass that was incomplete, and it was ruled that way and the replay official confirmed it. There was so many wacky things going on in this game. The play clock, official getting hurt, police officer getting run over, La Tech high fiving on a fake FG that ended up woefully short (wtf?),etc.
Actually they ruled on the field that Flynn Fumbled, the ball was recovered by Tech, Tech fumbled, recoved by LSU, 1st and 10 tigers. After review, the official noticed that one of the other officials blew the whistle and called the ball incomplete, causing most of the players to stop playing. Therefore no matter what the actual replay showed, the blown whistle trumps it all and it was an incomplete pass.
But there was only one official that ruled it incomplete while the rest let the play go on? Does it only take one to make it official?
Yep. A whistle stops play. Only takes one. Even though they are instructed to let the play finish out then make a call now that replay is in effect.
Ch0sn0ne is correct. It's similar to when they blow a play dead on a fumble (down by contact) and the other team is trying to recover or run the ball back. Regardless of whether or not the ball actually was fumbled, the whistle trumps everything else because it's assumed that some of the players stopped playing/reacting. Odd as it seems, they got the call on that play dead-on.
If the referee had said "the whistle blew before the fumble" I would have understood the ruling. However that's not what he said. He said "since an official ruled an incomplete pass" the ruling will not be reversed. The call on the field was, indeed, fumble, recovery, fumble and the referee acknowleged that, saying "on review that play stands, however..."
I agree that they kind of screwed the pooch on the explanation. They should have left it at 'Since the pass was ruled incomplete, the ruling on the field stands'...or something to that effect.